SOCIAL IMPACT

New jobs and higher incomes

 

In addition to creating new jobs in sales and production, another significant impact of this project has been observed: the light offered by these lamps for so many hours each night is making people even more creative. They now seek out new sources of income with work that they can do at night under the light of these solar lamps. The solar lamps are letting these people increase their incomes by 30 to 50%.

 

In Bangladesh, people have doubled their income once they had access to light in the evenings. Women especially have developed into successful small entrepreneurs thanks to the extra work hours afforded by these lamps. By their light, they sew and weave and increase their families' monthly income by selling the products of their labor. This increase in income not only improves their economic situation, but also leads to some associated benefits on a personal level as people experience success and pride in what they can achieve. This in turn generates the further energy and motivation needed to promote the socio-economic development of their communities.

 

 

Savings potential

 

Replacing a kerosene lamp with a solar lamp saves the monthly kerosene bill each month, which can be as much as $4.00 a month. So the lamp pays for itself in fuel savings after just 4 months. The net savings offered by a solar lamp with an average useful life of 2 years is $80 (24 months x $4 less the $16 purchase price of the lamp). If one switches from battery-operated lamps to the solar lamp, the monthly savings is about $1 and the lamp pays for itself in 16 months.

 

 

Health, security and environment

 

People can stay in their huts without suffering damage to their health because the solar-powered lamps do not fill their homes with fumes nor run the risk of fires. In addition, solar-powered lamps are environmentally friendly in every aspect. They result in significantly less battery scrap, don't pose any issues with hazardous waste disposal for the developing countries, and don't cause harmful emissions.

 

VILLAGEBOOM GMBH

Technologiehof

Mendelstrasse 11

48149 Münster

Germany

Tel: +49-251-980 2620

Fax: +49-251-980 32620

E-Mail

Imprint

    Villageboom 2015

Social Impact

Neue Jobs und Einkommenserhöhung

 

Neben der Schaffung neuer Jobs in Vertrieb und Produktion war auch folgender wesentlicher Effekt zu beobachten: Durch die Helligkeit der Leuchte und die lange Brenndauer sind die Menschen kreativer. Sie suchen nach neuen Einkommensquellen und bedienen diese in den durch Solarlicht erleuchteten Abendstunden. Die Menschen sind in der Lage, durch die Nutzung von Solarlicht ihr Einkommen um 30-50 % zu erhöhen.

 

In Bangladesch verdoppelten die Menschen ihr Einkommen, wenn ihnen die Abendstunden als zusätzliche Arbeitszeit zur Verfügung standen. Vor allem die Frauen entwickelten sich in der zusätzlich gewonnenen Zeit zu erfolgreichen Kleinunternehmerinnen. Mit Hilfe von Solarlicht nähen, flechten und weben sie und erhöhen durch den Verkauf der Gewerke das Monatseinkommen ihrer Familien. Diese Einkommenserhöhung führt nicht nur zu einer Verbesserung der wirtschaftlichen Situation, mindestens ebenso wesentlich sind die damit verbundenen Effekte auf persönlicher Ebene: Die Menschen erleben ihren Erfolg und sind erfüllt von Stolz auf die eigene Leistung. Aus dieser Stimmung heraus entstehen genau die Energie und Motivation, die nötig sind, um die sozio-ökonomische Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft voranzutreiben.

 

 

Einsparpotential

 

Der Austausch einer Petroleumlampe gegen eine Solarleuchte spart jeden Monat die Ausgaben für Petroleum. Die Ausgaben liegen hier bei rd. 4,00 $ / Monat. Die Leuchte refinanziert sich damit nach rd. 4 Monaten. Die Nettoersparnis einer Solarleuchte bei einer durchschnittlichen Lebensdauer von 2 Jahren, und damit die Ersparnis an Petroleum, abzüglich rd. 16,00 $ Kaufpreis, beträgt rd. 70,00 $.Tauscht man den Batteriebetrieb gegen Solarbetrieb, spart man monatlich zumindest noch rd. 1,00 $ und braucht für die Refinanzierung rd. 16 Monate.

 

 

Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Umwelt

 

Die Menschen können sich nun unbeschadet in ihren Hütten aufhalten, da solarbetriebene Leuchten weder die Atemluft belasten, noch das Risiko eines Brandes in sich bergen. Darüber hinaus sind solarbetriebene Leuchten in jeder Hinsicht umweltfreundlich. Sie verursachen erheblich weniger Batterieschrott, für den in durchweg allen Entwicklungsländern keine geigneten Entsorgungsmodelle existieren, noch verursachen sie klimaschädliche Emissionen.

 

VILLAGEBOOM GMBH

Technologiehof

Mendelstrasse 11

48149 Münster

Deutschland

Tel: +49-251-980 2620

Fax: +49-251-980 32620

E-Mail senden

Impressum

    Villageboom 2015